

## MEDIA RELEASE 18th February 2018

## Queensland Greyhound Del Rey leads all the way in Launceston Cup

By Greg Mansfield Launceston Examiner

Queensland trainer Tom Tzouvelis upstaged the locals in Saturday night's group 2 Curtains & Blinds Launceston Cup – but not with his No. 1 runner.



Del Rey beats Zulu Knock's and Hemsworth in Saturday night's \$40,000 Launceston Cup final at Mowbray. (Picture: Greg Mansfield)

Tzouvelis sent two greyhounds to Tasmania in search of the \$40,000 winner's cheque but, according to stand-in trainer Nicole Howard, Del Rey was only his second-stringer.

His main contender Soft Sand got run out from a wide draw in the semi-finals.

Del Rey (\$6.80) on the other hand drew perfectly in box 1 for the final and, after jumping in front, ran 5.08 and 17.61 sectionals to give nothing else a chance.

She scored by 1-½ lengths from the Anthony Bullock-trained Zulu Knock's (\$3.70) with Hemworth (\$2.50), unbeaten in his previous nine starts, only a neck away third.

Tzouvelis also had runners in Brisbane and Melbourne on Saturday night and left Richmond-based Howard in charge of Del Rey.

Continued Page 2...

And, she admitted she was feeling the pressure.

"I'm glad it's over – it's a relief," Howard said.

"I was only worried that she wouldn't begin and get to the front.

"Tom will be rapt with the win and I expect he will take her back to Queensland now."

Del Rey was smashed in early betting.

She was as long as \$19 with Ubet when fixed-odds betting opened and closed at \$7.

Zulu Knock's eased from \$2.50 to \$3 and Hemsworth was backed into favouritism at \$2.60 after opening at \$2.90.

The meeting attracted an excellent crowd, even though it clashed with Carrick harness racing.

It justified the Launceston Greyhound Racing Club's decision to move to a Saturday night slot for the first time since the club moved from White City to Mowbray.

After the placed runners in the cup the field finished in the following order 4<sup>th</sup> Chief Jetpilot (\$7.60), 5<sup>th</sup> Long View Belle (\$55.90), 6<sup>th</sup> Bobby Bound (\$7.90), 7<sup>th</sup> Apollo Blue (\$20.10) and Fink Racer (\$24.70).

Del Rey is a Fawn Bitch whelped May 2015 by Milldean Panther from National Diamond (Surf Lorian x Diamond Deb). She is raced by the Temnick Syndicate and trained by Tom Tzouvelis at Ormeau in Queensland. She has now won 10 races and been placed on 23 occasions from her 48 starts. The Launceston Cup first prize of \$40,000 brings Del Ray's overall prizemoney to \$63,660.

The time-honoured event is one the oldest feature finals in Australia it was first run in 1936 and has no doubt seen its fair share of drama over that long period of time. They have had a dead heat in 1942 and dual winners with Mystery Bridge 75/76 and the mighty Fine Horizon in 1999 and 2000 plus, the 2006 winner a last to first performance by Victorian Wongawillicath, in 2007 the cup was won by Capriccio provided a trifecta for trainer Ted Medhurst. While in 2009 the cup saw a win to dual Tasmanian Greyhound of the Year Big Moose. In 2012 and 2013 the Cup was won by Graeme Bate trained chasers Radley Bale and Xylia Allen. The last three years in 15, 16 and 17 the race was won by New South Wales sprinters Brad Hill Billy, Fantastic Spiral and Victorian Pantera Nera.

The Launceston Club conducted the Cup from 1936 onwards at the old White City complex until the club moved to the new track at Tasman Park in 2005 and Saturday night's Cup was the 14th staged on the circuit located inside the Mowbray Racecourse and Harness track. Listed below is the full honour roll.

1936 Win Sheen, 1937 Loch Neagh, 1938 Gambol, 1939 Polly Sheen, 1939 Aberdeen, 1939 Dan's Gift, 1940 Dancoma, 1941 Black Orchid, 1942 All Dixie / Shirarch (DH), 1943 Some Carlton, 1944 Young Progress, 1945 "Not Held", 1946 Losma Lady, 1947 King Goldsby, 1948 Chief Agricola, 1949 Erin's Ace, 1950 Sheehan Lass, 1951 Dawn's Duty, 1952 Some Ben, 1953 Rusty's Hope, 1954 Martin Bluff, 1955 My Cheetah, 1956 Royal Kara, 1957 Murmungee, 1958 Ebony Minda, 1959 Woodford Pride, 1960 Nippy Cola, 1961 Western Idol, 1962 Dottie Too, 1963 Ophir Gold, 1964 Pine Birch, 1965 Macdillon, 1966 Hoodwinker, 1967 Ophir Glitter, 1968 Persian Opera, 1969 Michael Craig, 1970 Society Dancer, 1971 Janker's Star, 1972 Dalmore Prince, 1973 Mountain Rock, 1974 Jamin John, 1975 Mystery Bridge, 1976 Mystery Bridge, 1977 Dynamic David, 1978 Fire Tasson, 1979 Spotted Toby, 1980 Highland Summer, 1981 Anymore Anne, 1982 Dinkum Castle, 1983 Glendale Irish, 1984 Sheila's Teresa, 1985 Blue Breeze, 1986 Falcon Prey, 1987 Glenavon Raider, 1988 True Vintage, 1989 Going National, 1990 Blazenka's Flyer, 1991 Painted Hilux, 1992 Talkaman, 1993 Wary's Desire, 1994 Flash Billy, 1995 Zoom Fox, 1996 Two Codes, 1997 Pezza's Tiger, 1998 Olympic Vision, 1999 Fine Horizon, 2000 Fine Horizon, 2001 Top Shiraz, 2002 Jeanie's Queen, 2003 My Boy Speedie, 2004 Final Image, 2005 Obie Trice, 2006 Wongawillicath, 2007 Capriccio, 2008Akka Boy, 2009 Big Moose, 2010 Gardam Prince, 2011 Fisherman, 2012 Radley Bale, 2013 Xylia Allen, 2014 Varcoe, 2015 Brad Hill Billy, 2016 Fantastic Spiral and 2017 Pantera Nera.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 David Simonette
GCA Executive Officer
simonette7862@gmail.com